There's actually real people behind that computer screen

Thanks for your responses to my last post. I’m really, really hoping this meeting is going to go nicely. And, well, I actually have seen his picture. There is this thing called IRC-galleria where a lot of people have posted their pictures. It was first a place where people who use irc can see who they have been talking to. But now it has grown, and many people who have profiles there do not even know what irc is. And, well, then there are people like me who use irc but will never, ever have a profile with my pic in it.

So I can not say what I would think about meeting him if I knew for a fact that he was really ugly. Now I know he is not. If I only were 15 years younger and 15 kilos lighter… And I did give in this weekend when we were in irc. I did show my pic. Which I regretted as soon as I woke up the next morning, so I took it down again. But for the meeting I’m going to take your advice, Megan. I am going to do all I can to make me feel pretty. I’m buying new clothes, I’m going to use make up which I rarely do. Just maybe that will give me some confidence. Well, that, and maybe a drink or two. Not more, because I’m so afraid that I’ll make a total ass of myself if I get too drunk.

But the good thing is that it seems that he wants to meet me, too. Actually it was him who brought it up the first time. Which was before I showed my pic… Well, we’ll see if that has changed his mind or not. But if you have been reading this blog for any length of time you already know that my self-esteem is horribly low. Anyway, I was talking to this one I’m going to meet and another one in a channel for just the three of us when my client decided to go belly up. I had to connect again, and it took a while as I had had a drink or two. When I finally got back I remember them being really glad to see me back. That was really nice!

As you can see this is really a lot on my mind these days. Just a few more weeks to go! I just hope I do not go crazy before that. Now it seems that I’d like it to be over and done with and on the other hand I’m hoping the day never comes.

3 responses to “There's actually real people behind that computer screen

  1. Yea! I’m so glad you decided to do it! Regardless of how it turns out, though I really think it will go well, I know you won’t regret it. I can’t wait to hear the details. And I’m with you on the drinks – a little vodka never hurts!

  2. Coolios! Wow, I can’t believe how long it’s been since I was on IRC. I remember when there were less that 1000 people on Undernet!

    I think you’re going to have a great time.

Leave a Reply

