That's what happens when you eat all that candy

So now that the sun is shining high again, it’s time to start addressing my weight issue again. This time the winter was especially bad one. I had been avoiding the scale for a long time now, but I knew I had been punning on weight as my clothes started feeling tight. But it was still a shock when I stepped on it. I have never been this fat. Never. It’s clearly time to start doing something about it.

So I joined this net thingy. The bad thing about it was that you could not see what was inside before you paid for it. So far I have been quite disappointed in what it has to offer. At least there are some things that can be used, so it’s not a complete waste of money – but I’m quite sure I will not be extending my membership after this. I’m quite sure I can find a computer program that has the capabilities I need without having to pay for it every month.

The features I’m going to (try to) use are the calorie counter, where I can store what I have been eating every day. I’m totally sure this can be found elsewhere. And even if not, it’s not going to be impossible to do by myself. So many products have the calorie values printed on the package these days, I only have to figure out those that do not like eggs or meat or fresh veggies. It also shows you what percentage of your calories comes from carbs, proteins or fat. Well, the recommended distribution is not something I’m even trying to follow, but it’s still nice to see how much each of them I’m eating. And it’s of course nice to have somewhere to put your progress. This is even simpler to do by yourself. If you have ever used excel you can you this in minutes.

What else is there then? Not much. You are getting an email each week with “helpful” tips. Yes, I mean “helpful”. So far they seem to be just as useful to me as your usual IF tips from fertiles. Here are few of my favorites: “Find a picture of yourself when you were happy with your body. Look at it and imagine being that person again.” Ummm… I do not own a picture like that. There has never been a time I had been happy with my body. I have always been on the heavy side. And I’m quite sure that even this time I can not reach a body I’d be happy with. I’m looking for a body I can live with, and that’s not the same thing.

And then another gem: “Control your visits to the fridge; turn off the lights so you can not see what is inside. Or put a mirror on it so you can see yourself before opening it. Or modify your fridge so that it makes a sound when opening it.” Eh? If I’m going to the fridge it means that I’m hungry. If I’m hungry, I should eat something. If I do not eat when I feel hungry I will just get hungrier and it won’t take long before I eat everything in sight. My problem is not in the fridge. If I have to limit my visits to the fridge there is something wrong with the diet. I can not loose weight if I’m hungry all the time!

The only thing that I am going to do as suggested is to tell you I’m going to lose weight. Then you can publicly ridicule me if I can not do it. There is no way I’m telling anyone else about this. So there will be more posts like this in the future. I have created a new tag for this, so if you do not want to read them they will be easy to skip.

What am I going to do then, if the web site seems to be of no help? Well, I’m going to do the only thing I know is going to make me lose weight: limit the carbs. I’m not even trying to go completely without, just limiting mostly the bad ones completely. And not having even the better ones nearly as much as all the official recommendations seem to be suggesting. Carbs. They made me fat. I can not control my use of carbs, so I’m going to do without.

And I’m going to get more exercise. I’m going to start riding again. I’ve already booked my first lesson, it will be on Saturday at 4 P.M. Wish me luck! I know that my legs are going to feel like jello afterwards, but I certainly do hope I manage to stay on the horse. I really have to refresh my memory on all the terms…

And I’m thinking about buying a new cycle. The old one has served me over 20 years now, so I’m guessing it’s time to retire it. Maybe then I’d feel like cycling to work at least every now and then. That would be 10 km one way. I’m sure the first times are going to be hell, but I’m sure things will get better. I know they will.

4 responses to “That's what happens when you eat all that candy

  1. I try to remember “everything in moderation” and that way I don’t deny myself anything I really like. One Reese’s peanut butter egg is okay – three of them are not okay. It doesn’t always work out for me, but it keeps me happier!

    Do you guys have WeightWatchers over there? I have a few friends who have had great success with their points program. Good luck!

  2. I don’t know about you, but I don’t keep the “dangerous” stuff in the fridge so putting something that goes “MOO!” when I open the door is stupid on many levels.

    All my caloric foods are hiding in the pantry (cookies, chocolate chips, prengals). I keep the carrots, chicken, and salad dressing in the fridge.

  3. I went to see a nutritionist for help. I made minor changes to my diet with some success. Slow decrease is better than fast decrease.
    Good luck!

  4. Megan, I’m trying to do that, too. But some things I just have to cut completely in order to succeed. And yes, we do have Weight Watchers here. But that system is never going to work for me. I’ve tried it, but I just end up cheating on the amounts and I can not really live with their witch hunt of fat. I need fat in my diet. I will eat more if I have to avoid everything that has fat in it.

    DD, my thoughts exactly! If it’s in the fridge, then it’s not the problem. As the title of the post says, it’s all the candy that has accumulated on my waist. And I’m not keeping candy in the fridge. My problem is everything with sugar and grain in it. Those are usually not kept in the fridge!

    Lut, I have never seen a nutritionist. But I’m quite sure that they would just be feeding me the same old high carb low fat diet I know I’m going to fail on. I need my fat. I really, really have to cut my carbs. Why do they assume that the same thing works for everyone anyway? I do not think there is any other branch of medicine that thinks that one size fits all.

Leave a Reply

