Right now I’m feeling so empty. I can not concentrate on anything. I just sit here and stare at the screen. I just hope that nobody notices it.

The great move is now over. Well, almost. The old house is empty and the new owners have moved in. My mom is finally living in the new apartment. I was expecting to have some sad feelings – we were emptying my childhood home after all – but I felt nothing. I was just glad it is now over. Even though I know I’m never going back to that house again. But now that I think about it, that place has not felt like a home to me for a long time anyway, so that’s probably it.

And my dad has been kicked out of the hospital. He was not really willing to leave, but they probably kicked him out yesterday. So he is much better, though not completely the way he was before. I have been afraid to call or visit the new apartment now, as I’m afraid he will be terribly mad. I’m sure he thinks we have lost all his precious stuff when moving.

But now I feel so empty. Now I’d need something to help me get back to normal. I’m afraid it will take a long, long time.

4 responses to “

  1. The black hole that follows after the resolution of a crisis? After all the excitement, it’s only to be expected I suppose. I hope you feel like yourself again soon.
    It’s good to hear your father has recovered more or less completely. You weren’t expecting it a while back.

  2. So glad you hear your dad is doing so much better.

    I hope you fnd some kind of normalcy much sooner than you expect. Perhaps it’s time for you to apply for BB?

  3. Caring for aging parents sucks! Especially if you are the only child or only one closeby. This will only get worse. Beyond the stress and life events with which you are dealing, I have the feeling that you might have a problem with depression.

    I have depression and I have been on medications for it. It is not a cure-all, but it helps with those feelings of emptiness and feeling isolated and unconnected to anyone or any thing. There is no shame in getting help. The shame is how many years of your life you will be in limbo because depression has curbed your natural enthusiasm for life.

    God bless and give you peace.

Leave a Reply

