Riding the rides

So now I’m back form my vacation totally refreshed and ready for another long winter of work! Oh, who am I kidding – I’m as tired as ever. Some of it is most likely due to the fact that we only came back from our trip late on Tuesday night, so there hasn’t been enough time to feel normal again. Don’t get me wrong, it was really fun, but also exhausting.

One of the days was spent on Linnanmäki. And you won’t believe what I did: I rode the rollercoaster!! I still can’t believe I actually did that. I’ve always thought it’s the worst thing ever, as it goes so high and I’m afraid of heights. But it was not so horrible after all. But there are still rides you could never get me on, like those that hang you upside down…

There was one weird moment there not long after we got there. I was on the Lohikäärme ride with DS when suddenly I felt someone looking at me. And I saw this man looking at me with an awwwww kind of smile. Or maybe not at me or maybe I’m just imagining things. But somehow he looked a lot like my ex-boyfriend – but how would I know, I have not seen him in 15 years! By the time the ride was over and I got us out of the ride the man had left. I saw him walking away, so I’ll never know if it really was him.

But why does this bother me? Well, two things: I did not like the look he gave me (or maybe not me, I have no way of knowing). You do not look at random strangers like that. No you don’t. I’m not sure if I’ve ever told you the story about one of the boys I met when studying that ended quite badly, but I can tell it in another post if you want to hear it. I’d really, really hate to think that he still had feelings for me 15 years after I dumped him. Shit. Shitshitshit. The other thing that bothered me was that he seemed to be alone. Come on, who goes to an amusement park alone?? Riding the things with others is an essential part of the fun! But just standing there alone? It’s kinda creepy. Of course there could have been others somewhere, but at that time he was alone.

Whew. It sure seems that I had to write that out. It was just such a weird experience. I forgot about it for the rest of the day because there just was so much to do, but it sure seems to be popping back to my mind. I just hope that if it really was him, walking away was an indication of not wanting to contact me in any way. Because that is how I’d like it to be.

3 responses to “Riding the rides

  1. That amusement park looks like tons of fun. I’m a huge roller coaster fan but ashamed to admit it’s been years since I’ve been on any.

    Very strange to have possibly seen your ex-boyfriend in that situation. I think if it was him and he walked away then he didn’t want to talk to you. Because it would have been to easy to just wait until after you got off the ride, right?

Leave a Reply

