Eurovision – not a contest

It’s that time of the year again. It’s time for the Eurovision song contest. Except that the contest has little to do with now good the song actually is. To me it seems that the one with the best show wins. And using that and only that as a reference, Finland might actually have a chance this year (or not, which is more likely the case). Even the betting agencies at least think that Lordi can move past the semi final stage and is likely to do well in the actual competition, too.

To those of you not too familiar with Finland’s track record I can tell that Finland has never won. Or even been anywhere close to win. Hell, being in the top ten has been a rare occasion! I can remember all too well those (not so few) times that it has been “Finland, 0 points” at the end.

But it’s always good when the band/song/whatever gets talked a lot in advance. And I think that goal has already been accomplished. Or at least it seems so when looking at things from here, but it could as well be that the Finnish media is blowing some things out of proportion. That would be no news!

But anyway, if you happen to read this and are in the Europe and do watch this… “song” contest, could you throw in a one vote for Finland for me? Not that it would make much difference with millions voting – ah, never mind. I’m sure the result is the same old : “Finland, zero points”.

2 responses to “Eurovision – not a contest

  1. I’ll see what I can do for you 🙂
    I actually think we (the UK) would have a good chance this year, if it wasn’t for the fact that the rest of Europe hates us…

  2. I thought the Scandinavian countries always voted for each other?
    Of course, I wouldn’t know first hand since I haven’t watched it in years. The songs are usually thirteen in a dozen. The acts too.

Leave a Reply

