Are people actually inspired by this?

OK, I have to ask your opinion on this movie I happened to see today.

Maybe it is the fact that my dream can not be achieved by just wishing it to happen. Even if I dedicated everything I can to achieving my dream, which I matter of fact have done already, that would not bring me what I dream.

So then someone makes this cutesy movie about how your mind is the biggest obstacle. Fuck you. It’s not. It’s just another way of saying “just relax!”. But I would really want to know if this is just infertility speaking, or does this kind of thing actually make you feel like you can do it. I know that is what it’s supposed to do, but right now I just feel like crying because no amount of willpower can give me another child.

4 responses to “Are people actually inspired by this?

  1. If only Dreams, determination and willpower could overcome infertility. That looks like something my mother would send me!

    I am so sorry that you are in this terrible place.

    Take care.

  2. Thanks for adding my blog to your success list. Best of luck (that sounds so lame, but I hated all the crappy things people said to me)

    Ava Infertility

  3. That movie’s terrible. If everything in it were true, then we’d all be marathon-running multimillionaires. Life isn’t as simple as this movie would have us believe. There’s far more to each person’s story than it’s letting on, and it’s an insult to people whose dreams simply cannot be realised.

  4. To put it bluntly and simplisticly: the video: very American. Very very American.
    It fits in the ideology of “you can become/do anything if you put your mind to it”, the American dream etc.
    The downside is that “if you don’t make it, it’s your own fault”. Therefor solidarity is either a waste of resources or an act of charity.

    I don’t buy it.

    You can strive to do the best you can under your circumstances, but not all obstacles can be overcome.

    The video is an add.

Leave a Reply

