It's a matter of faith

Well, I have been thinking about posting this for a long time, and now I’m going to. This is my opinion. I can understand that not everyone thinks the same way I do. If you disagree and decide to comment on this, please try to keep it civil.
So, after that disclaimer you probably wonder what I’m going to be writing about. You will find it out. As you know, I have rather recently joined Bloglines, and one way to earn the credits is to surf member blogs. And I have a hard time believing some of the blogs I have landed to.

Let me just say that I do not consider myself a very religious person. I do belong to the church because that’s what everybody does, but you will not see me in it every Sunday. Well, any Sunday. I only go to the weddings and funerals. My mind works too rationally to accept that some unseen force decides what happens to me. Hell, I think there is no way of going through infertility and not at least question your faith. Everybody knows one of those phrases no infertile ever wants to hear: maybe it’s not God’s plan for you to have babies. Oh yeah? So it’s God’s plan that drug addict teenage girls pop babies in the world after having drunken sex at the backseat of a car to get money for their next fix?

But I’m not saying religion is a bad thing. A lot of good things are being done by people that consider themselves Christian. Then again, there are a lot of bad things done in the name of Christianity. Anything taken to an extreme is bad. Extreme right wing Christians are really, really bad. Hey, I do not mind what you believe in as long as you are not force feeding those ideas to me. Trying to force the modern Western society back to what it was 2000 years ago is not going to happen. And it shouldn’t. Things have changed quite a lot since then.

Granted, I’ve never actually read this book called Bible from the first page to the last. I’ve heard bits of it several times. But it’s still a book. Written by men. I can’t remember where I read it, but someone somewhere has said that it was not exactly faxed down from Heaven. It has been filtered though men. And by this I actually mean men, not women so much. But that does not keep people from taking a verse from it and twisting it’s meaning around so many times so that it does not mean what it originally meant. And then presenting that as the absolute truth, the word of God.

And for most part it seems that they keep finding restrictions in it. Don’t do this, don’t do that and never, ever do this. And then demanding that everybody follows their imaginary rules. I accept that some rules are necessary to keep this civilisation civil, but some are just being ridiculous. Like it was a long way to get women accepted as priests here in Finland. And there are still groups that refuse to work with female priests. And all that because it’s said somewhere in the Bible that women should stay silent. Not hundreds of times, not tens of times but once. Yeah. Whatever. And now the same people are against letting single women or lesbian couples receiving ART.

And the extreme right wing politicians are usually claiming to be religious. They frighten me even more, as they are actually in a position where they can do a lot of harm. Sure, even they have some good causes like remembering the veterans that we owe our freedom to. And to those of you who are not too familiar with the history of Finland, here is a brief recap: WW2, Soviet Union is demanding areas from Finland to use as military bases. Finland refused, whereas the Baltic countries agreed. Finland went to war against SSSR and lost, resulting in the loss of area anyway. But the Baltic countries got attached to the SSSR completely, so it was not such a bad thing after all. I would be living in a completely different kind of land if the war had never been fought. Those given areas are in sad shape these days, and that is where the bags I’m collecting are going.

But I’m getting lost of the subject here. So even though the extreme right has some good ideas, the vast majority of them are dangerous. I’m afraid of them. Luckily in Finland they are a small group, and have no real power. And you can not take them too seriously when they have Tony “the Viking” Halme as their representative…

What I do believe in is being kind to other people. Letting them decide for themselves. Forcing someone to something never works that well. I don not know if there is a God. And even if there is, who’s right? I mean that there are several really different kind of religions around the world. Which one is right? Which one is wrong? Who should I follow? What is one of those we consider lunatics is the one that’s right? What will happen to those who have been following strict rules all their life only to find out that they picked the wrong guy to follow?

4 responses to “It's a matter of faith

  1. This is common understanding among many Europeans, no?
    Women priests are not common, but empty churches are.

    Have you heard about the debate going on about teaching ‘intelligent design’ in biology class in some areas in the U.S.? I don’t see that happening over here any time soon.

  2. Hi, I’m Larry from Let’s Talk, and I came by to say thanks for renting space on my blog.
    I’ve also posted a welcome for you there. Once again, Thanks for renting at my site.

  3. Pingback: Trying to Stay Sane » Unforgivable

Leave a Reply

