Answer, part three where I talk about living

So, maybe it is time for another post to answer the questions asked. Today I’m going to answer this one: If you could live anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?

So, the questions are not getting any easier. This is also a question that I can not give just one answer, because I just haven’t travelled that much. So I have very limited knowledge of the world and I can not name a place where I’d like to stay.

But let’s approach this one the same way we did with the job question. I can tell you things that should be there and things that shouldn’t. I’d like to live in my own house, with plenty of open space around me. It would be nice if there was a lake or sea nearby, maybe even my own beach. Then again I would want to live close to a city where you can get all that you need, i.e. it should be a relatively big city. And it would not hurt to live close to an airport, well, a functional one. I actually live really close to an airport, but there are no flights from it. It is being used for paragliding, and on a hot summer day the sky might look like this.

Of course I would not have to commute far to get to my dream job. And the availability of public transport would be great. Here you are so dependent on your own car; there is no way I could even get to work by bus. But I would not like to live in a place where the air is thick with smog. Clean environment is a must. And it has to be safe, too. If I want to go for a walk 10 p.m. on a Friday night, I can do so without being afraid of getting raped.

I’m not sure my favourite place to live in would be in Finland. I’ve often thought that I was born in wrong country, as I seem to prefer a lot of things not easily found here. Let’s talk about beer. Here it is not easy to find anything besides light lager like Lapin Kulta. But I’d like my beer dark and sweet. If you try to ask for ale in a pub here, you will most likely be laughed at. I’ve been is Scotland once, and I was in heaven. All these different kind of ales, and they all tasted so good! And lots of really good whiskey there, too.

I’m also not too fond of the fact that everything gets here so slowly. Like TV shows: the first episode of Lost will be shown next Thursday. How’s that for slow? And some things never get here. Like Clay Aiken. I’d like to live close to a place where he would one day come for a concert. Slow, slow, slow. And I still can’t get Splenda from my grocery store. I wonder if I ever will…

And let’s not forget the weather. Sure, the pictures may look great. It’s fun to look out of the window, but it’s a totally different thing to actually go out. Like today. It’s great to look out and see the sun shining, but when it’s -30C it’s not actually fun to be out. I would most likely want to spend Christmas and midsummer in Finland, but other than that I’d rather be somewhere warmer.

But the place should still be in the western world, as there is no way I would ever dress like this. And I do like access to proper medical care and things like running (warm) water and bathrooms with proper toilet bowl instead of this.

Does this place exist? I have no idea. If you know where it is, please tell me so I can go and have a look!

One response to “Answer, part three where I talk about living

  1. I know what you mean about favorite place to live. I know that I need forests and mountains, and would prefer seasons, one with plenty of snow and cold weather. I’d love to visit somewhere hot and sultry, though, like the Maldives or India or the Caribbean, just to see what it was like.

    On another note, I totally got your email, and will get back to you!

Leave a Reply

