Answer, part one where I talk about movies

I was going to make just one post later based on any possible questions I might get, but it seems that I can not give any short answers. So it looks like there will be several posts! Thanks for the questions, and you can keep them coming!

As the question of the day I have randomly selected this: What’s your favorite movie?

Now this is a tough one. It’s pretty hard to pin down just one movie as my all time favourite. The first question should be that does it have to be a film you would likely have seen. That would rule out Finnish films, which is really sad. I really like most of Aki Kaurismäki’s work. But I’d be surprised if any of you had seen even one of his films. The latest one, Mies vailla menneisyyttä, got a lot of awards and nominations, and it a good film. I remember hearing that he has refused to send his earlier films to any competitions saying films are no racehorses. So while the other films have not earned so many prizes it really does not mean much. Then I remember seeing Tulitikkutehtaan tyttö in a movie theatre. And then there is Calamari union – just call me Frank!

But you want me to name a movie that people outside of Finland would have seen? And pick just one? I’ll have to go with what pops into my mind first: Dead Poets Society. Just don’t ask me why.

4 responses to “Answer, part one where I talk about movies

  1. Hey, I’m an Aki fan!! I haven’t seen many of his movies, just Match Factory Girl, Leningrad Cowboys Go America (fabulous!! must get on DVD), and Man Without A Past, which I thought was quite sweet and funny, and of course the section of some movie that came out a few years ago, the name of which completely escapes me. Something about a Train, I think?

  2. Oh, I really want to find them on DVD somewhere! Not that I have been really looking…

    I think it was in Leningrad Cowboys Go America where the manager was eating in a restaurant while others waited outside. Then he asked for a doggy bag, and you assume he is going to give it to the waiting men. Instead of that he feeds it to a really small dog! I laughed so hard.

  3. So now I looked, and it seems I can get a dvd! Email me if interested (ankaisa at yahoo dot com), I could send it to you.

Leave a Reply

