Surgery? No thanks!

Why does everyone have to be so pretty these days? And why do some people go to such extremes just to look good? I know I’m no beauty queen but I’m not willing to go through surgery to improve my looks. Sure, I could get a lasik surgery so I did not have to wear these coke bottle glasses or a breast reduction so I could fit in something smaller than a G cup and maybe then my shoulders might get better, but why should I do it? I. Just. Don’t. Get. It. Every surgery has risks. Why should I subject myself to it just for my vanity?

Now please don’t think I’m happy with the way I look. Nothing could be farther from the truth. I’m fat and ugly but I just don’t care about it. I used to when I was younger, but now I’m not letting it touch me. There’s not much I can do about it anyway. I wasn’t given a model body so I just have to deal with it.

But almost every day you can read about a celebrity who had his nose done or her breasts larger. And then there are TV shows like Extreme Makeover that just make me sick to watch. I’m a reality show junkie, but there must be some limits. Plastic surgery is considered good entertainment these days?? Not for me. The other kind of reality shows I can’t watch are those with some kind of a “twist” at the end, like Joe Millionaire. And I’ve never liked any candid camera type of shows, they are just so mean. I just hope nobody ever tries anything like that on me!

I did not know that circumcision was such a hot topic before I saw the discussion it sparked on Julie’s blog. It’s really not even an issue over here, as you can’t find a doc that would perform it on a newborn, so practically all men are uncircumcised here. I remember seeing debate on TV whether docs should agree to do it for religious reasons because otherwise the procedure would be performed in less than optimal conditions. But I think it’s still up to the doc to say yes or no, they are under no obligation to do it if they do not want to. To me it’s weird that anyone would even want to do an unnecessary surgery like this.

2 responses to “Surgery? No thanks!

  1. Huh. That’s interesting – how we all have different views and opinions on surgery. I had a breast reduction about 11 years ago and it was the best thing I ever did.Bhttp://daydreamdesires.typepad.com

  2. Any doctor who performs an unnecessary circumcision on a child should lose his license to practice medicine. Genital mutilation is a clear violation of the Hippocratic oath.

Leave a Reply

